Trust=Faith=Trust

Trust! This is a pretty powerful word. People usually have to earn this from others. Some sort of payment/sacrifice might even have to take place to receive it. For the past month, I would say that the theme of my conversations with God has been this one word: Trust. I’ve told Him numerous of times over the past month that I trust Him. No matter what tomorrow holds, I will trust Him. I now find myself having to put my words into action. I have to admit that I’m failing miserably. I began to wonder what the real meaning of this five-letter word was. So, I visited my friend Mr. Webster and this is what I found:1 a : assured reliance on the character, ability, strength, or truth of someone or something b : one in which confidence is placed
2 a : dependence on something future or contingent
After looking up the definition, I then visited my friend Mr. Strong and pulled out his concordance of the bible. When I flipped to trust, I was surprised to see what I found. Next to the word trust it said “see Faith”. That was it. There was no definition except for that. I then realized that my trust in God reflects my Faith and vice versa. It literally left me speechless. I do know that I will never again so flippantly say to God that I trust Him. I must be ready to back it up with some action. B/c I now find myself in that position and to be real with you, I’m motionless right now.  originally posted 1.28.07

Leave a Reply

