A Missing Piece

Have you ever read “The Missing Piece” by Shel Silverstein? I don’t really have a memory of reading it when I was a child. I do however remember reading “The Light in the Attic”, “Where the Sidewalk Ends” and “The Giving Tree” (my favorite of the three). B/c of recognizing the author, I decided to read this book. Now I’m not sure what Silverstein was hoping his readers would walk away with after putting this book down. As I read it, I realized that it’s a great representation of relationships. The story is about a circle that was missing a wedge-shaped piece (keep in mind it IS a children’s book). The circle decided one day that he was going to find his missing piece. So he set out on his way, singing the following song:
“Oh I’m looking for my missin’ piece
I’m looking for my missin’ piece.
Hi-dee-ho, here I go,
Lookin’ for my missin’ piece.”
He seemed to enjoy himself throughout his journey, singing the whole time and meeting new friends. The first piece he came to was just too small for the circle. One piece wasn’t even interested. Another piece was too big and stuck out from the circle making it hard for him to roll about. Then one day, Viola! He came across what seemed to be the one. The one that would be a perfect fit and would make him whole. Even better, this pie-shaped piece was interested in being his missing piece. So the two became one, so to speak. As they continued on their way, rolling along, they built up such great momentum that they began rolling at a very rapid speed. The circle decided that he didn’t like moving so fast, he felt like he was missing out on things that they were passing by so quickly. So, he stopped rolling. And he decided to let the piece go. Then off he went, rolling on and singing his song. Like I said earlier, I think this story can represent what we see happen in relationships. The circle represents the person seeking for THE one, you know, their lobster (that’s for my fellow Friends watchers). Think about it: sometimes one person is interested in another and the feelings aren’t mutual (the piece that wasn’t interested). Or there might be that person who doesn’t seem to measure up to what we want (the piece that was too small). What about the one who seems to weigh us down/hold us back (the piece that was too big). So what about this piece that was a perfect fit? Why, if it was what the circle was looking for all along, would he so easily give it up? I don’t know. I don’t have the answer. There could be many possibilities. Really, the possibilities are endless. People have different reasons for doing different things. Maybe things were moving too fast. Maybe the circle decided he just wasn’t ready. Or maybe the missing piece ended up not being THE missing piece. Just b/c something looks right doesn’t always mean it is. Like I said, I don’t have the answers. I only have my theories…….What about you? What are your theories? I’d love to hear them.
“Oh I’m looking for my missin’ piece
I’m looking for my missin’ piece.
Hi-dee-ho, here I go,
Lookin’ for my missin’ piece.”

One response to “A Missing Piece

  1. i think i can’t think about this too much right now on a monday morning, but i will get back to you on it!

Leave a Reply

