Generational Crutches

Why do we allow mistakes of our ancestors to hinder us from receiving God’s best for us? The common expression is ‘generational curses’. I am a firm believer that these curses exist and that they can be the root of present struggles in our lives.  I also am a firm believer that prayer is powerful and that by the power of my Jesus that these curses can be broken. But at some point, we also have to make the decision that we aren’t going to remain in the past. We need to stop allowing the past to define who we are. It’s helped create who we are , but it’s not who we are. I don’t even want to know how many times I’ve used my past or my parents past as crutches in my life. It reached a point where I was so use to these “crutches” that I didn’t want to get rid of them. They had become my support and created a certain comfort level for me.  They allowed me to not take chances or to grab hold of some things that God had for me. I know I’m not alone on this. I see people do it every day. And I’m sick of it. I’m sick of seeing people miss out on amazing opportunities because they’re afraid. I think fear is the root of it no matter the crutch. And my frustration isn’t with people it’s with the lies that are being fed to them. Think about it. What if Jesus had given up? He didn’t have the purest lineage. There were several people in his ancestry that made monumental mistakes but He didn’t allow that to stop Him from fulfilling His purpose. So you might be thinking, “that’s all well and good but He WAS Jesus.” Jesus might have been the Son of God but He also was a man. My heart hurts to see people I love give up on or pass by what the Lord has for them simply out of fear of what might happen. All because they’re convinced they will repeat the same mistakes. I’m not sure what I can do about it except to pray, but I promise you that I’m not going to put up with it anymore. I can only control myself and my decisions but I hope you’re encouraged to reflect and think about what might you be missing out on because of the fear of following in someone’s footsteps.

Leave a Reply

