book meme

 So, apparently, the thing to do (or one thing to do) is make meme’s. And basically, a meme is something that is all about me me me me me and me. I found this one on my friend Amanda’s blog. I love to read so I thought this would be fun. Enjoy:

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback? Definitely hardbacks, they are more durable.

Amazon or brick and mortar? Brick and mortar

Barnes & Noble or Borders? I’m going to go with B&N but mainly b/c I don’t think we have a Borders here.

Bookmark or dogear? Definitely bookmark but it’s usually never an actual bookmark. It’s whatever is lying closest to me.

Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random? I don’t alphabetize but if I did it would probably be by title. How I do organize my books is by type. All non-fiction together, all fiction (then categorized by christian authors and non-christian authors), all devotion type books, and so on and so on.

Keep, throw away, or sell? The thought of someone throwing a book away makes me very, very sad. I keep mine.

Keep dustjacket or toss it? I don’t like dustjackets. I think books without them look vintage or something cool like that. Bye bye dustjackets.

Read with dustjacket or remove it? i throw them away. they get in my way.

Short story or novel? Novel.

Collection (short stories by same author) or anthology (short stories by different authors)? collection i guess

Harry Potter or Lemony Snicket? neither

Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? when tired. there have been so many nights when i’m nodding trying to fight sleep b/c the book is so darn good. I usually end up having to go back a few pages b/c they are a blur.

“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? once upon a time.

Buy or Borrow? most that i have read have been borrowed but i have a dream of having one of those rooms in my house where a whole wall is loaded w/books.

New or used? used.

Buying choice: book reviews, recommendation or browse: definitely recommendation

Tidy ending or cliffhanger? cliffhangers if there is another book in its’ series

Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? nighttime

Stand-alone or series? I love series. BUT, some books should be stand-alone and series just ruin them. does that make sense?

Favorite series? I could NEVER pick one favorite. But I do love
Mark of the Lion by Francine Rivers & The O’Malley Series by Dee Henderson

Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? The Mud People by Laney MacKenna Mark (it’s not my favorite but most people probably haven’t heard of it, it’s pretty good.)

Favorite books read last year? Probably the Redemption series by Gary Smalley & Karen Kingsbury.

Favorite books of all time? Oh my goodness, here we go:

Favorite children’s book?

Least favorite book you finished last year? Unforgotten by Kristen Heitzmann (please refer to question about stand-alone or series. the prequel, Secrets, was much better.

What are you reading right now?  Nothing. I need a good book.

What are you reading next? I don’t know, any suggestions?
What book are you embarrassed you ever read? any Danielle Steele books. blah.

Added my own question:

What one book could you read over and over and over again? Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers

6 responses to “book meme

  1. I have been thinking the same way on dust jackets recently. They do get in the way. I don’t think I could throw them away but without them our little library may look cooler. I’ll have to think about it.

    Just a few answers from me:

    I definitely keep books.
    I would definitely recommend Harry Potter.
    Favorite Series: C.S. Lewis Space Trilogy (although I hate the last one).
    Favorite book read last year: Through Painted Deserts by Don Miller or The Horse and His Boy (from Chronicles of Narnia)
    Least favorite: That Hideous Strength (last of Space Trilogy)
    Reading now: The Silmarillion by Tolkien
    Reading Next: Probably Harry Potter and Goblet of Fire
    Read over and over? Out of the Silent Planet by CS Lewis

    I will also read Redeeming Love at some point. It’s Ash’s favorite too.

  2. !!! he’s right, I LOVE Redeeming Love- I cried all the way through it. You should read “And The Shofar Blew.”

    I’m going to finish reading the Mark of the Lion series once school’s done and I have time.

  3. Fun! I’m glad you did the meme, too. (I still love to say that!) We like a lot of the same books!

  4. Oh, and I’ll answer your question: What book could I read over and over again? Can I pick a series?–The Chronicles of Narnia. I think I’ve read them 10 times. (I just finished reading them to Lydia…it took me 14 months, but we did it!)

  5. i am reading the same book i have been since Christmas and it is not that long. what the heck.

  6. Reid – you must read Redeeming Love. I’m excited that you are going to. Also, I have the space trilogy but haven’t read it. guess i need to do that. i think i still have them. hmm…..thanks to everyone for reading my meme and responding. have a great monday.

Leave a Reply

