rebuke

i’m sure this has never happened to any of you, but yesterday, i was sitting in my car writing down some things that i thought the Lord was showing me. and i guess in a way He was b/c it ended up leading me to what He really was trying to tell me. but i was so sure of what He was teaching me. i was so wrong. like i said, i’m sure thats never happened to any of you. unfortunately, it happens to me all the time. i started thinking about balance. and in my mind i was telling myself how everything has balance. and that its not always easy trying to find that balance. i’ve been trying to work through a particular situation with God and in doing so, asking Him how i find the healthy balance b/w what i was feeling about it and the reality of the situation. b/c they don’t agree with each other. i can’t tell you how many times i’ve revisited this conversation with Him. and through tears and questioning, i really have agonized over it all. only to always end up just as frustrated as i started out. so yesterday, i find myself there, again. and in mid-scribble, the Lord just drops a verse in my mind. “so, because you are lukewarm – neither hot nor cold – i am about to spit you out of my mouth.” Revelation 3:16. disclaimer: i didn’t know the location of this verse off the top of my head. thank you to my scholarly friends. you know who you are. so i read this verse, and i just start laughing b/c its then clear to me what the Lord is trying to tell me. i had a moment of gentle rebuking. tough stuff but good stuff. somethings do have a balance and its okay to work with that. but not with God. He doesn’t want me to be riding the fence. with Him and with His plans and purpose for me, there is no fine line. i’m either with Him or not with Him. His word says that He’d rather me cold than lukewarm. He doesn’t want anything to do with it. i kept telling Him that i knew it was how He wanted things and i could accept that but then i would think about my feelings and thoughts about it all and ask Him if i feel this way and if its what He wants then why aren’t my feelings changing. pretty funny, right? i sit here, shaking my head and rolling my eyes and asking myself, “really?”. anyway, God was like, “no, bump that. thats not how I play and you know it. get over it. you either want what I want for you or you don’t. you can’t have both.” alrighty then…it was good times, let me tell ya. and check this out, i found this interesting. that particular verse came from a letter that John wrote to the church in laodicea. after a vision from Jesus he wrote letters to 7 churches. in his letters he commended some for some good things they’ve been doing and rebuking some for some not so good things. the church in laodicea is the only church that he didn’t commend for anything. i don’t know, i found this interesting. they refused to take a stand and this created idleness that was displeasing to God……just something to chew on…..thanks for letting me share.

Leave a Reply

