there is something to be said about being a parent

i just spent a week at disneyworld with a 9 and 11 year old. from sun up to sun down for 6 days. i realize that disneyworld isn’t the normal environment to judge what it would be like to be a parent, but let me just say, i had a front row seat and it didn’t look easy. and this was at disneyworld, the “happiest place on earth”. what would it be like to do this at home? in your everyday life? i never again will take being a parent lightly. if you know me at all then you know how much i look forward to being a mom. but my eyes were open this past week to what it would really be like. i take my hat off to parents. ESPECIALLY single parents. and especially single dads with girls. i think that would be the toughest. i think about my own dad who was faced with raising two girls on his own. i think about the thoughts that must have ran through his mind when faced with that situation. but then, maybe no thoughts ran through his head. maybe it was just a matter of doing what he had to do. if you are reading this and you are a parent, you are my hero. if you are reading this and you’re not a parent, hug a parent, they probably need it.

6 responses to “there is something to be said about being a parent

  1. You have NO IDEA!! At least those two were potty trained!! But what a Wonderful blessing it is to be a parent!!
    When I went to the beach at the end of May, I stood on the edge of the water watching my 5 year old son play in the water. I stood there holding my 10 month old daughter. I looked back at my mother who was watching me and I told her, mom, I wouldn’t trade this for the best figure in the world! I was in complete heaven with my babies and wouldn’t go back to being a teenager or young adult if you said I could!
    And Tracie, you will be an AWESOME mother and wife someday…I’ve always told you that!!
    Love ya!!
    M

  2. Misty, I love you and can’t wait to see you and your precious children next week.

  3. Hi, I just came across your blog through Ann Jacksons blog. Your insights on parentsing were very interesting. I am a single parent of a 6yr old and a 9 yr old. It’s not easy to say the least but we just do it. In the past I have compared it to being thrown from a ship and debating wether to sink or swim. Of course you would swim! It isnt really a choice, you just do it. (and all with God’s help) I must say that even the thought of taking my kids to Disney Land raises my blood pressure some..haha Thats a task in itself! But I am sure that the kids you took soooo greatly appreciate it and will remember those 6 days forever. God bless you for that one! lol

  4. Just stumbled onto your blog through a search..
    I’m a single mom of 3 young men (they were 3, 6, and 9 when I became the single mom). It has definitely been tough at times but the rewards way outweigh the struggles…

    It’s great you did this–I’m sure it was very appreciated and they will remember it forever!!!

  5. dear tracie’s blog,

    the world would like to know tracie’s thoughts. and maybe even see a picture of the new hair. why are you not producing such things? how can i continue in my day if when i click this url and see the same blog every single day?

    this must be remedied. immediately.

    signed,
    concerned blogger

Leave a comment